SophieZo, LLC

Virtually There For You

Twitter Really Is About Building Relationships and I’m Thankful for All My Followers

Last week, my husband’s grandmother passed away. Though I did not tweet about it directly to my entire stream, I did respond to several people interested in what was going on that day. In the process, I had an outpouring of support and condolences. I saw the business side of Twitter go personal. It’s nice to know I have such great relationships on there. The time I’ve spent getting to know so many of my followers really showed itself to me that day.

The biggest part of that relationship building came through when @SmartVAforU sent her condolences and an offer to help with my business if needed. I was going away for three days. Two of those days were to be work days. Initially, I was just grateful for the offer. Then late in the day, I realized I had not done my blog post yet. I was busy rearranging things to be able to leave. My blog never crossed my mind.

As I remembered the need to do that post, @SmartVAforU’s offer to help crossed my mind at the same time. At that moment, I proceeded to send her a DM to ask for help. I thought for sure I was too late to enlist her help, but I was wrong. She jumped to the task and provided a fantastic guest blog post for me to put on my blog before the end of the business day.

I was overjoyed. I couldn’t believe she was not only willing but able to help me out in a pinch. It was an amazing feeling to know that I had someone there to back me up in an emergency. Had I not spent the time getting to know her by engaging in conversations and sharing her wisdom with others, I would have gone without a blog post last week.

For those of you out there simply selling yourself or your products, you are missing out on the best part of Twitter and all the other social networking sites for that matter. Without engaging your followers, getting to know them, and helping them get out there, you cannot build the relationships you need to be a true success in your business. I am grateful for Twitter, @SmartVAforU, and all of my followers. They came through for me when I needed them most.

December 22, 2009 - Posted by | Social Media

1 Comment »

  1. I agree 100% with you Sophie. The relationships you can create on Twitter by engaging with others and sharing tweets can be very rewarding and valuable, both professionally and personally.

    Comment by Valerie Alba | December 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

